Online Civil War Resources Lecture, Second Update

Last week, I wrote about the change in location for my August 8th talk on online resources related to the Civil War available  from the State Archives. Since then, a few things have happened including the blogger for the News and Observer’s “Past Times” blog letting me know that she planned on writing about the talk. Given the extra publicity that this lecture is getting (which is wonderful), I and the rest of the Archives Civil War 150 committee felt that we could easily outstrip the capacity of the State Records Center’s classroom so we’ve moved the talk back to the State Archives and Library Building, to the second floor conference room that used to be the computer lab. If we need even a bigger space, which I think is unlikely given the time of the talk, we’ve also reserved the auditorium as a backup space. I’ll post signs in the lobby of the State Archives and Library building on the day of the talk so that those of you arriving will be reminded of where the talk is and, as always, if anything changes I’ll post another update here.

I’m sorry about all the changes of locations. Part of the problem is that we have access to a lot of small spaces and one very large one, but nothing in-between. But still, I know it’s confusing, which I apologize for. I suppose this is one of the many reasons I’m an archivist and not an events planner.

One other reminder for those of you arriving on the 8th who have not visited our building recently: there is an ongoing construction project on the building’s portico, the primary entrance to the State Archives and Library building. While the front of the building is open to foot traffic, it is not accessible for wheelchairs, scooters, or walkers. There is ramp at the back or north end of the building, accessible either from the loading zone on Blount Street or the gravel parking lot behind the building. You must call the Security Desk at (919) 807-7383 for entrance into the building as it is normally kept locked for security purposes. If there is no answer, please call (919) 807-7476 or (919) 807-7475 for assistance.

And, as I said, I’ll post more news when and if I have it. Otherwise, I’ll see you on the 8th of August.

This entry was posted in Events, News, Online Tools, Second Mondays Lectures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Online Civil War Resources Lecture, Second Update

  1. Pingback: Online Civil War Resources Lecture Update | North Carolina Civil War 150

Comments are closed.