William H. S. Burgwyn Letter: August 6, 1862

We continue to add Burgwyn papers to our digital collection. This letter is dated August 6, 1862. William H. S. Burgwyn wrote his mother with the news of his appointment to 1st Lieutenant, Company H, 35th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry. “Col. [Matt] Ransom having ordered our election to be held I was elected first Lieut. of Company H. (Capt. Maxwell) with but one dirseuting [sic] voice and am now here for the purpose of getting my baggage out to my company. Col. Ransom has acted perfectly upright and gentlemanly about my election and did what he could to get me elected.”

To read the entire letter follow the link below.

http://digital.ncdcr.gov/u?/p15012coll8,11251

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.