“Only God knows the bitter anguish…”

I have another quote to pass along as I add our Civil War letters into the North Carolina Digital Collections. (If you would like to read more quotes from our letters, you might want to read this post first, followed by this one.)

John Futch to Martha Futch, Aug. 6, 1863

“…You expressed a desire To know the particulars of Brother Charlys death I will endeavor to give them to you as well as I can When our Regt char ged the enemies entrenchments on the near Gettysburg Pa on the night of July the 3d he was wounded on or near the top of his head it did not pass through the brain but I think it must have bruised them as he did not speak after he was hit he was lying down loading at the time I carried him out he seemed anxious to talk to me but could not He lingered till about two oclock on the 3d when he died. I remained with him from the time he was wounded until he died we buried him on the night of the 3d Only God knows the bitter anguish this sad berevement sent thrilling through my sad heart It seems hard to part forever from those our heart treasures But the Lords will be done Let us put our trust in Him He alone can comfort the grief stricken soul and bind up the broken heart…”

This entry was posted in Online Tools and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Only God knows the bitter anguish…”

  1. Pingback: Futch Letters, 1861-1863 | North Carolina Civil War 150

  2. Thank you for posting these letters. The brothers are my direct ancestors and I am the last member of my particular family line. My father was a superb historian who died in 2008 – he would have been so thrilled to have read these.

Comments are closed.