“Since my letter of the 12th war has begun…”

Here are a few more interesting quotes I noticed recently in our Civil War letters as I reviewed their metadata before adding them to the North Carolina Digital Collections. (Not sure what I’m talking about? You might want to read this post first.)

Cadet Paul Faison to his father regarding resigning his commission at West Point, April 12 and 14, 1861 (see this blog post by Sarah Bliss for more information about these letters)

“…You yourself who love the Union; and as every right minded man ought, were its privileges conceded to each and every part of it: and would look with sorrow upon its disruption stated I think in one of your letters to me that unless such a compromise was effected on the basis of that of Critendens, that you were for secession. Now no such compromise has been effected, despite the patriotic exertions of the border states, nor is it probable there will be, the Republicans within wish nor will grant any, their policy ividently seems to be coercion, and war is declared by their journals to be inevitable…”

“…You may say that I can procure a commission when my state secedes or after graduating, this I grant, but could I do it with the relative rank I should have were I to accept one now? No. I could not: it would be unreasonable to expect it…”

“…Were I thus to wait, all my classmates who have left, and even those of the lower class would then be several grades above me. Men who I have been accustomed to command & rank for years would then be my superiors. Such a course would be opposed to on of the strongest principles of human nature and which I admit that I havent the moral courage to submit to. I should have to seek another mode of employment or in another country, neither of which would I believe conducive to my happiness…”

“Since my letter of the 12th war has begun, as I anticipated at the time of writing it. It would now be treasonable for me to remain longer with my present feelings and sintiments. I am now in the pay and service of a government at whose defeat I rejoice and over whose victory I grieve. This feeling I can neither control or change, the only thing then left for me to do is to relieve myself as soon as possible from any obligation I owe it…”

“…There is also good authority for supposing (A professor being told so by the Secty of War) that the Corps will be ordered on to Washington to serve as a body guard to the President. Should this be so I shall peremptorily refuse, it being highly revolting to my conscience, nature and every sentiment of honor…”

Catherine Ramsey to John Futch, April 18, 1863

“…I was glad to hir that you war well and this levs all well dear sun I have no neas to rite to you more then I must tell you that the yankes has had wright blake sorrouned and tuck his horse but tha did not git him he has got back to his compny so I hear and thar air exspecten a hard fite in a fue days now…”

“…dear sun I am sorry to hir that you air a sufring for somthin to eat but I hope that times may git so that you all may git a plenty to eat but it dont lok like that purvison can be got it such a prise as it is corne is wort 4 dollars and teenty five cent and bacon 1 dollar and teenty five cent rite soon and give me all the neas…”

John Futch to Martha Futch, May 20, 1863

“…Martha I will inform you that I have Been in a very hard fight since you left But thank the Lord I am yet speard I was not hurt our Regiment cominced fighting on Saturday Evening a Bout 4 oclock and fought until 8 that night & then we commeced a gain on Sunday morning a Bout 7 o,clock & fought until ten or a 11 OClock that day and we drove the Yankees Back and taken possesion of the Battle field Martha I have sent you two letters Since the Battle & this makes the third one also I have Sent your Mother one we are yet on picket But we are Exspecting to leave here Every day. I was not sick But affer the fight I was werred and went to the hospital and remained there three days & nights…”

John Futch to Martha Futch, May 28, 1863

“…Marthy I Want to see you so bad I Dont know what to Do I Want to come home mity bad but I see Now chance of coming Soon &c, Marthy John Malpys & Thimothy Mills left the 24 of this Inst for home we Supose their is 2 more of our, Co. Dead Merdrick Wood Blaney Roshel they boath Dide at the hospittle Dear Wife it is pesible times hear Now but I Dont Now how long it will Remane Sow their is Now movement By the yankes as we Now of &c, We are in a vary Nice camp about one mile from Hamltons crossings…”

“… I hear they Have hard fiting at Vixberg I heard our men had taken fifteen thousand prisners But our men Was Retreating Back from them I am a fraid they Will get Vixburg any how Give my Love to All the Family and All inquiring friends if any…”

John Futch to Martha Futch, June 6 and 9, 1863

“…We left our old camp on the morning of the of the fifth and have marched this far and are now resting. Stoped here yesterday and have been here all day today. There is some move on hand that is hard to find out we expected to go streight to culpepper but I cant tell what will be done yet I am afraid we will have Some hard fighting to do befor we return to our old camp if we ever do. The arme is coms it appears are all in motion..”

“…we here heavy canonading the direction of fredricks Burg to day I am in hops we wont get in the fight But I dont am mity frad we will I Expect we will have a nother Big fight at Bull Run you must take Peshel care of your Self and get a long the Best you can I want to Come home the wirst I Evry did I live in hops I will Come Sum tim or another…”

This entry was posted in Online Tools and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Since my letter of the 12th war has begun…”

  1. Pingback: “Only God knows the bitter anguish…” | North Carolina Civil War 150

  2. Pingback: Futch Letters, 1861-1863 | North Carolina Civil War 150

Comments are closed.