First Wednesdays: Arkansas Resolutions

By February 1, 1861, the states of South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, and Texas had passed a secession ordinance.  The failure of the resulting Washington Peace Conference in mid-February left the upper south Border States to contemplate their future.  In March 1861, Arkansas legislators sent out an inquiry to learn what likely courses of action the other upper south Border States were considering.  This inquiry marks a moment of pause and possibility before Virginia, Arkansas, North Carolina and Tennessee joined the other seven states in passing a secession ordinance.

Governor’s Correspondence: Arkansas Resolutions, March 28, 1861

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to First Wednesdays: Arkansas Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Civil War 150 Round-up « History For All the People

Comments are closed.